Former Fort Meade Garrison Commander Joins FMA Foundation

March 27, 2014 – Retired Col. Edward C. Rothstein, president and CEO of the Anne Arundel Economic Development Corporation (AAEDC) has been appointed to the Fort Meade Alliance Foundation Board.

Rothstein was the Garrison Commander at Fort George G. Meade (FGGM) from 2011 to 2013. It was during that time that he established a close working relationship with the Fort Meade Alliance and began supporting the efforts of the organization and its Foundation. The Foundation’s biggest effort to date is assisting in the creation of a Resiliency Campus on the Installation — an initiative started during Rothstein’s tenure.

“We are honored to have Ed Rothstein serve on the FMA Foundation,” said Deon Viergutz, president of the FMA Foundation. “His passion for the service personnel and their families at Fort Meade, along with the impact he has had in the region supporting business and education initiatives fits perfectly with the overall mission of the FMA Foundation.”

The FMA Foundation, incorporated in 2011, promotes, encourages and meets the charitable giving needs of the region by accepting, investing and distributing corporate and personal gifts as well as conducting its own fundraising efforts. The Foundation hosts education-oriented programs and offers scholarships for high school and college students pursuing studies and careers in the key fields of science, technology, engineering, math, language and information technology.

In addition to its signature scholarship program, the FMA Foundation has forged a partnership with the U.S. Army and the FGGM Garrison Command to plan and develop a Resiliency Campus at Fort Meade. Intended to assist the entire Fort Meade community, the campus will offer resiliency programs focusing on the five dimensions of strength: emotional, social, spiritual, family and physical.

The Foundation has already raised more than $75,000 for the Resiliency effort, including nearly $40,000 from the Baltimore Orioles’ online auctions for the last two years.

Other Foundation projects from the past have included outfitting the FGGM Soldier and Family Assistance Center; building playgrounds on the Fort Meade Installation; building batting cages at the Youth Sports Complex on the Installation and providing monthly snacks to the Wounded Warriors Transition Unit.

The FMA Foundation Board is currently made up of President Deon Viergutz of Lockheed Martin Corp., Secretary N. Gordon Knoxof Miles & Stockbridge, Treasurer Jay Baldwin of TD Bank and five at-large members: Rosemary Budd of Lockheed Martin Corp.,Penny Cantwell of Sandy Spring Bank, Kay Hill formerly of the NSA, Elizabeth Rendon-Sherman of LG-TEK, Edward Rothstein of AAEDC and MA General Manager Tim O’Ferrall (ex-officio). The Vice President role remains vacant.